Riley Center Announces Six Mayors Selected to Mayors’ Design Fellowship’s Second Class

Staff Report From Charleston CEO

Friday, November 22nd, 2019

The Riley Center for Livable Communities announces today the six Mayors who have been selected to participate in the second class of the Riley Mayors’ Design Fellowship. The 2020 Riley Mayors’ Design Fellows are:

Mayor Alston DeVenny, of Lancaster

Mayor Rick Osbon, of Aiken

Mayor Bob Pettit, of North Augusta

Mayor Christie Rainwater, of Hanahan

Mayor Nathan Senn, of Laurens

Mayor Lancer Dean Shull, of Batesburg-Leesville

"The Riley Mayors’ Design Fellowship is about seeking excellence and together elevating the municipalities that fuel our state,” said former Charleston Mayor, Joseph P. Riley, Jr.

The program equips South Carolina Mayors with the tools necessary to implement projects that positively impact the built and/or natural environment in their communities. Preparation and research occurs throughout the fall with support from Clemson’s Master of Resilient Urban Design students. The culmination is in February with a two and a half day design workshop during which each mayor presents the challenges and opportunities of his or her project. From this presentation, mayors receive feedback as well as information on relevant design and planning topics from a group of expert faculty.  Each Mayor will return home equipped to begin a transformation.

Mayors were selected from a competitive group of nominees based upon demonstrated visionary leadership and the quality of an idea for a physical project to improve community character and drive development.